City of Springfield, Illinois

James O. Langfelder - Mayor

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Departments > Fire Department

Fire Department

Fire Stations

Find out where the local fire station are

Fire Safe Families

Some helpful tips for fire safety

Become a Springfield Firefighter

Interested in joining the fire department? Find out how!

Burn Regulations

Learn more about Burning rules

Open Burning Regulations

Learn more about Open Burning rules

Siren Locations

Here you can find out where the tornado sirens are located

Ask the Chief

Send a direct email to the chief!

Pyrotechnics Display Permit

Download Firework Permit application.


Division Overview

The City of Springfield are well protected with a Fire Department equipped with staffing, emergency vehicles, response teams, and pre-incident plans to handle the risks that have been identified within our response area. We serve eight unincorporated areas in and around Springfield known as Fire Protection Districts.

   Division I - Operations

The Operations Division oversees the emergency response services for all citizens who live in, work or visit the City of Springfield, Illinois.

   Division II - Fire Safety

The Fire Safety Division of the Springfield Fire Department is focused on promoting a safe community for residents and visitors in the greater Springfield area.

   Division III - Training

The Facility Maintenance Division maintains the City’s main campus downtown of the Municipal Centers East and West and the Lincoln Library. The staff provides daily janitorial services, minor repair services, grounds keeping, and oversight of major repair projects.

   Division IV - Tech Services

The Technical Services Division’s duty is to recommend, implement, and maintain electronic technology-based devices, software and systems used by the Fire Department.